Home » Club World Cup Opening Ceremony: The Cherifian Kingdom proves equal to the task

Club World Cup Opening Ceremony: The Cherifian Kingdom proves equal to the task

by Lesley Ngwa
0 comment

This Wednesday, February 1, 2023, Tangier Stadium shone brightly much to the delight of the public who came to witness the kick-off of the Club World Cup. The breathtaking opening ceremony produced fireworks in the Cherifian air, on the occasion of the 19th edition of the Club World Cup that Morocco is hosting between the pearl of the North and the capital of the Kingdom, Rabat.

An opening ceremony worthy of the biggest international sporting events. The celebration plunged spectators and viewers back into the spirit of the exploits of the Atlas Lions at the Qatar 2022 World Cup. The ceremony paid tribute to the famous Tangier explorer, Ibn Battuta as well as to the legend of football, Pele.

A grandiose ceremony with a magnificent show of sounds and lights, the presence of guest-star Walid Regragui, a true legend in the country embellished the ceremony. The coach of the Atlas Lions played the role of Master of ceremony by launching in particular the famous “Dirou Niyya” (believe in us), rallying song of the supporters during the Qatar world cup expedition.

The cultural diversity was not left out. Dj Kawtar Sadek was able to make the audience go hysterical with his mixing of Moroccan rhythms. Thus, the public discovered 12 musical rhythms representing the 12 regions of Morocco.

Seven teams are lined up on the starting block to try to win the 19th edition of the FIFA Club World Cup. These include Al Ahly (Egypt), Al Hilal (Saudi Arabia), Auckland (New Zealand), Flamengo (Brazil), Real Madrid (Spain), Seattle Sounders (United States) and Wydad (Morocco). The opening match pitted Al Ahly, finalist of the last African Champions League, against the Australians of Auckland City, defending Oceania champions, on the occasion of the preliminary round. A game which the Egyptians won 3#0.

Morocco is organizing the Mondialito for the third time, after the 2013 edition which saw Raja of Casablanca reach the final (2-0 defeat in front of Bayern Munich) and that of 2014, which saw the participation of the Moghreb of Tetouan, as Moroccan champions

Copyright 2023©kick442.com

All rights reserved. This material and any other digital content on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written in whole or in part, without the written permission of our management.

This site is not responsible for contents displayed by external sites

Related Articles

Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

You cannot copy content of this page