Home » Sheroes Cup: Organizers reveal participants

Sheroes Cup: Organizers reveal participants

by profseuno profseuno
0 comment


Organisers of the Sheroes Cup have revealed that the 2023 Sheroes Cup is scheduled to kick off on October 7, 2023, in Abuja.

Already, 12 clubs have confirmed their participation and are expected to take part when the top-flight level of the Nigeria Women Football League (NWFL) gets underway, which also serves as a pre-season tournament

The participating clubs include Adamawa Queens FC, Bayelsa Queens FC, Confluence Queens FC, Dannaz Ladies FC, Delta Queens FC, Edo Queens FC, Ekiti Queens FC, Naija Ratels FC, Nasarawa Amazons FC, Rivers Angels FC, Royal Queens FC and Sunshine Queens FC.

President, Ratels Sports Development Foundation (RSDF), Barr. Paul Edeh, while disclosing this in a press statement on Tuesday, said this year’s football event would be remarkably dedicated to highlighting and celebrating the achievements of Nigerian women who are making the country proud globally.

Tagged; ‘Beyond Rhetoric To Action’, the RSDF boss said the soccer tournament which is at its sixth edition will also serve as a veritable avenue for top teams across Nigeria to prepare themselves before the regular season kicks off in November 2023.

Talking about the essence of the theme for the competition in 2023, Barr. Edeh said, “The contribution of women and their giant strides and impactful contribution in national development has continued to shape the world positively in the face of the daunting challenges they face in our society.

“This is why we have carefully chosen the theme for the 2023 Sheroes Cup, which we hope will inspire a paradigm shift in the way we treat women in society.

“The Sheroes Cup Pre-Season Tournament started in 2019 with the sole aim of preparing interested teams for their respective league seasons across Africa. This year’s edition, which is the sixth since its inception, is coming with a bigger advantage to participating teams, which will enhance the preparation of the various teams playing in the NWFL Premiership after a very long break from the field of play.

“This year’s edition, like the 2022 edition, will see each team playing a minimum of 5-8 games in preparation for the new league season. Two teams with the highest points from group A and B will qualify for the semi-finals, third place, and final.

“The assurances we are giving all the participating teams is that officiating in the tournament will be equal to none as we are collaborating with the NFF and its Referees Committee to ensure that the officiating is in line with the laws of the game.

“The winner of the Sheroes Cup 2023 and first runner-up will be entitled to trophies and medals. The third place will be entitled to medals only. All the participating teams are expected to be given brand new jerseys, balls, and other logistics support”

From 2022, the Sheroes Cup, after transforming from the Flying Officers Cup, the tournament has been segmented into two participation periods annually, with clubs at the NWFL Championship tier taking their turns on a separate arrangement from the Premiership clubs.

The maiden edition for the Championship clubs happened earlier this year with Imo Strikers’ emerging winners.

Previously, Edo Queens, Bayelsa Queens, FC Robo Queens, and Delta Queens lifted the Sheroes Cup diadem in the 2019, 2020, 2021, and 2022 editions respectively.

The current edition is scheduled to last between October 7 and 16, 2023, while the participating teams are expected to arrive on October 5, with the draws slated the following day.


Copyright 2023©kick442.com.

All rights reserved. This material and any other digital content on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcasted, written in full or parts, without a written permission from our management

This site is not responsible for contents displayed by external sites

Related Articles

Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

You cannot copy content of this page