Home » Lists and facts about 24 AFCON 2023 coaches

Lists and facts about 24 AFCON 2023 coaches

by profseuno profseuno
0 comment

24 coaches will lead their teams to the 2023 African Cup of Nations (AFCON) next month in Ivory Coast with the aim of winning the title.

Only three out of the 24 coaches have won the title.

Hugo Broos who is taking South Africa to the tournament won the AFCON title with Cameroon in 2017.

Algerian coach, Djamel Belmadi won the 2019 AFCON title for his country.

The defending coach, Aliou Cisse won the title for Senegal in 2021.

As a testament to the growth of home-based coaches in Africa, 13 out of 24 coaches heading to the Ivory Coast are indigenous coaches.

The remaining 11 are foreign coaches.

France has the highest number of foreign coaches heading to AFCON 2023.

Four coaches from France will take teams to the tournament. They include Jean Lois Gasset (Ivory Coast), Hubert Valud (Burkina Faso), Amir Abdou (Mauritania), and Sebastien Desabre (Democratic Republic of Congo).

Three coaches from Portugal will be on their way to AFCON 2023. They are Jose Peseiro (Nigeria), Pedro Goncalves (Angola), and Rui Costa (Egypt).

Belgium has two representatives; Tom Sainfeit (The Gambia) and Hugo Broos (South Africa).

Irish coach Chris Hughton (Ghana) and Israeli manager, Avram Grant (Zambia) complete the foreign-based coaches list.

Below is the list of coaches heading to AFCON 2023

1. Ivory Coast: Jean Louis Gasset (France)

2. Nigeria: Jose Peseiro (Portugal)

3. Equatorial Guinea: Juan Micha (Equatorial Guinea)

4. Guinea Bissau: Baciro Cande (Guinea Bissau)

5. Egypt: Rui Costa (Portugal)

6. Ghana: Chris Hughton (Republic of Ireland)

7. Cape Verde: Bubista (Cape Verde)

8. Mozambique: Chiquinho Conde (Mozambique)

9. Senegal: Aliou Cisse (Senegal)

10. Cameroon: Rigobert Song (Cameroon )

11. Guinea: Kaba Diawara (Guinea)

12. The Gambia: Tom Sainfeit (Belgium)

13. Algeria: Djamel Belmadi (Algeria)

14. Burkina Faso: Hubert Velud (France)

15. Mauritania: Amir Abdou (France)

16. Angola: Pedro Goncalves (Portugal)

17. Tunisia: Jalel Kadri (Tunisia)

18. Mali: Eric Chelle (Mali)

19. South Africa: Hugo Broos (Belgium)

20. Namibia: Collins Benjamin (Namibia)

21. Morocco: Wahid Regragui (Morocco)

22. Democratic Republic of Congo: Sebastien Desabre (France)

23. Zambia: Avram Grant (Israel)

24. Tanzania: Abdel Amrouche (Algeria)



Copyright 2023©kick442.com.

All rights reserved. This material and any other digital content on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcasted, written in full or parts, without a written permission from our management

This site is not responsible for contents displayed by external sites

Related Articles

Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

You cannot copy content of this page