Home » Top Ghanaian Ref. joins crack team of officials led by Mauritania’s Dahane Beida in AFL opener

Top Ghanaian Ref. joins crack team of officials led by Mauritania’s Dahane Beida in AFL opener

by Lesley Ngwa
0 comment


  • Al Ahly SC (Egypt) will play against the host Simba SC at the Benjamin Mkapa Stadium before the return leg in Egypt
  • The winner of the competition will pocket $4m, and the runners-up will bag $3m while the third-place finishers will earn $1.9m.
  • Reference Ghanaian Referee Daniel Nii Ayi Laryea is one of the match officials picked by CAF 

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) has picked a reference team of match officials for Friday’s African Football League quarter-final contest pitting Simba SC of Tanzania against the legendary Al Ahly SC of Cairo.

2022 African Nations (CHAN) referee Dahane Beida from Mauritania has been assigned to lead the team for the inaugural game of the competition which starts this Friday at the Benjamin Mkapa.

Ghana’s Daniel Nii Ayi Laryea, who was also at CHAN 2022 joins the team of officials that has Dimbiniaina Andriatianarivelo of Madagascar as first assistant,Togo’s Jonathan Koffi as second assistant.

Issa Sy of Senegal and Lahlou Benrahim from Algeria are reserved and assistant referees respectively.

The inaugural African Football League will serve off on October 20, in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania.

The eight-team competition consists of Africa’s elite clubs including the record-African champions and football royalty, Al Ahly SC (Egypt) who will play against the hosts Simba SC in the opening game to be attended by former Arsenal manager Arsene Wegner before the return leg in Egypt.

FIFA president Gianni Infantino, the CAF boss Dr Patrice Motsepe will be part of over 200 top officials of the game drawn from across the world for the event.

This year’s competing football clubs, selected following Caf rankings, will include Al Ahly from Egypt, Wydad AC from Morocco, Espérance Sportive de Tunis from Tunisia, TP Mazembe from DR Congo, Enyimba from Nigeria, Mamelodi Sundowns from South Africa, ATL. Petro Luanda from Angola and Simba SC from Tanzania.

The winning club needs only to play six matches to win the substantial prize money.

The AFL is a CAF competition established in partnership with FIFA. One of the main objectives for forming the AFL is to ensure that the quality of African Club football is globally competitive and that African football Clubs are commercially viable. The AFL will also contribute to the development and growth of Youth football talent on the African Continent.

CAF’s intention is that all the 54 CAF Member Associations including the countries that may not have football Clubs in the AFL should benefit and receive financial contributions from the commercial viability and success of the AFL.

Copyright©2023 kick442.com-Tanzania 

All rights reserved. This material and any other digital content on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written, or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from our management.

This site is not responsible for the content displayed by external sites

Related Articles

Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

You cannot copy content of this page