Home » Morocco’s King Mohammed VI announces historic Afro-European 2030 FIFA World Cup bid

Morocco’s King Mohammed VI announces historic Afro-European 2030 FIFA World Cup bid

by Lesley Ngwa
0 comment

Morocco, Spain and Portugal have reached an agreement to present a historic Afro-European joint bid to host the 2030 FIFA World Cup.

Morocco’s monarch, Mohammed VI celebrated for his involvement in thriving football in his country, announced the move Tuesday, March 14 during a CAF organized award ceremony in Kigali, Rwanda.

Spain and Portugal had initially entered the joint bid arrangement with Ukraine but the Portuguese Football Federation and Soccer federations of Spain (RFEF) have now decided to join the Royal Moroccan Football Federation in an unprecedented African and European associated bid.

King Mohammed VI confirmed the move when he took to the stage in Kigali.

“Your excellency, Ladies and Gentlemen I will like to announce, before this assembly, that the Kingdom of Morocco has decided together with Spain and Portugal to present a joint bid to host the 2030 World Cup.”

“The joint bid, which is unprecedented in football history will bring together Africa and Europe, the Northern and Southern Mediterranean, and the African, Arab and European Mediterranean Worlds,” a portion of the manifesto read.

It was previously reported that the Iberian bid involving Morocco could be proposed, but Spain and Portugal have decided to join them to submit bids as triple hosts.

It is a new experience for FIFA and the football industry after the 2002 FIFA World Cup in South Korea and Japan which till date is the only edition that had joint hosts.

However, FIFA will rehearse this option when the US, Canada, and Mexico stage the planet’s pinnacle nations football bonanza as the first triple organizers in 2026.

King Mohammed VI added another particularity about the move announced this Tuesday.

“It will bring out the best in all of us- in effect, a combination of genius, creativity, experience and means,” He said.

A joint bid from Colombia, Peru and Ecuador is also reportedly in the offing as well as a tripartite bid involving Greece, Saudi Arabia and Egypt.

Spain hosted the World Cup in 1982 and was part of a failed joint bid with Portugal for the 2018 tournament, which was awarded to Russia. Portugal has never staged the tournament, although it adid host the UEFA European Championship in 2004 while Morocco were denied the chance in five previous bids.

FIFA has confirmed it will select the host for the 2030 World Cup in 2024, meaning the host selected to stage the 2030 World Cup will have just six years to prepare for the event which is not even too much time for ready-made Morocco, Spain and Portugal.

Copyright©2023 kick442.com

All rights reserved. This material and any other digital content on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written, or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from our management.

This site is not responsible for the content displayed by external sites

Related Articles

Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

You cannot copy content of this page