Home » Holders pick quality squad for AFCON title defense

Holders pick quality squad for AFCON title defense

by profseuno profseuno
0 comment

Defending champions, Senegal senior men’s national team coach Aliou Cisse has selected his final 27-man roster for the West African sides’ title defence.

Senegal which won their first African Cup of Nations (AFCON) title in Cameroon will travel to Ivory Coast for AFCON 2023 with a quality squad.

Three goalkeepers including Edouard Mendy, nine defenders, eight midfielders, and seven attackers made the final squad.

Notable players in the squad include Kalidou Koulibaly, Chiekou Kouyate, and Krepin Diatta.

Others are captain and former African footballer of the year, Sadio Mane, Ismaila Sarr, and Chelsea FC’s Nicolas Jackson.

The Teranga Lions will face Cameroon, Guinea, and The Gambia in Group C.

Yamussoukro will host the group where tacticians, Aliou Cisse (Senegal), Rigobert Song (Cameroon), Kaba (Diawara Guinea), and Tom Sainfeit (The Gambia) bring out their tactical prowess.

Cisse will hope to defend the title and join the league of coaches who have won the AFCON more than once.

Edouard Mendy
Mory Diaw
Seny Dieng

Abdoulaye Ndiaye
Ismail Jakobs
Abdoulaye Seck
Fode Ballo Toure
Formose Mendy
Moussa Niakhate
Youssouf Sabaly
Kalidou Koulibaly
Abdou Diallo

Lamine Camara
Pathe Ciss
Pape Matar Sarr
Krepin Diatta
Pape Gueye
Cheikhou Kouyate
Idrissa Gana Gueye
Nampalys Mendy

Abdallah Sima
Nicolas Jackson
Habib Diallo
Iliman Ndiaye
Ismaila Sarr
Sadio Mane
Boulaye Dia



Copyright 2023©kick442.com.

All rights reserved. This material and any other digital content on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcasted, written in full or parts, without a written permission from our management

This site is not responsible for contents displayed by external sites

Related Articles

Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

You cannot copy content of this page