Home » Who will make the cut? Rigobert Song’s 49 players in contention for the 2023 AFCON

Who will make the cut? Rigobert Song’s 49 players in contention for the 2023 AFCON

by Lesley Ngwa
0 comment
  • The confederation of African football has divulge the preselected players for all 24 countries taking part in the 2023 AFCON
  • Rigobert Song submitted a 49 man squad which
    represent a rich and diverse pool of Cameroonian talent, playing in prestigious abroad and locally
  • Some prominent players are missing from the list, and the final team will be announced in January

Rigobert Song has submitted a first list comprising of 49 players for the 2023 Africa cup of nations in Cote D’Ivoire.

The confederation of African football made public the provincial squad of all participants of the AFCON on Wednesday December 20,2023, with Cameroon inclusive.

The Indomitable Lion’s list comprises of 42 players plying their trade in Europe and seven home based footballers.

Twenty of Cameroon’s 2021 AFCON squad made the cut. They include Simon Omossola,Devis Epassy,Andre Onana, Collins Fai, Olivier Mbaizo,Harold Moukoudi, Enzo Ebosse,Andre-Frank Zambo,Vincent Aboubakar,Nouhou Tolo,Eric Maxim Choupo-Moting,Olivier Mbaizo,JC Castelletto,Ignatius Ganago,Stephane Bahoken,Karl Toko-Ekambi,Clinton Njie,Moumi Ngamaleu, Kunde Malong,Samuel Gouet Oum and Yvan Neyou.

Simon Ngapandouetnbu,Nicolas Nkoulou,Christopher Wooh,Gael Ondoa,Oliver Ntcham,Georges-Kevin Nkoudou,Bryan Mbeumo,Jean-Pierre Nsame,Souaibou Marou, and Jerome Ngom Mbekeli are some of the world cup participants to have been included in the list.

Other familiar faces who will get the opportunity to grace the AFCON stage for their first time if they make the final squad are; Frank Magri,Faris Pemi Moumbagna,Elliott Njongoue,Junior Tchamadeu,François Mughe,Leon Bell Bell, Enzo Boyomo.

2024 Ballon d’or winner Emmanuel Mahop Dikongue headlines the half a dozen and one players choose by coach Song.

Dynamo de Douala’s skipper Leonel Ateba , AS fortuna’s Warren Zidane Fozing , Victoria United’s Douala Wielfried Nathan , Patient Wassou and Jean Éric Moursouwith Cotonsport , Franck Astama from Bamboutos of Mbouda .

The absence of certain players like Martin Hongla,Christian Bassogog,Marceline Mbahbi,Jean Onana,Jérôme Onguene,Che Malone,Jules Armand Kooh just name a few has been noticed.

The final squad will be made know early January, with the tournament set to start on January 13,2023.


The complete list below.

2- Georges Kevin Nkoudou (Damac FC)
3- Warren Zidane Fozing (AS Fortuna)
4- Douala Wielfried Nathan (Victoria United)
5- Emmanuel Mahop Dominguez (Coton Sport)
6- Stéphane Bahoken (Kayserispor)
7- Karl Toko Ekambi (Abha FC)
8- Léandre Tawamba (Al Okhdood Club)
10- Aboubakar Vincent (Besiktas)
11- Patient Wassou (Coton Sport)
12- Moumi Ngamaleu (Dinamo Moscou)
13- Leonel Ateba Mbida (Dynamo Douala)
14- Jean Éric Moursou (Coton Sport)
15- Clinton Njie (Sivasspor)
16- Devis Epassy (Abha FC)
17- Frank Magri (Toulouse FC)
18- Faris Pemi Moumbagna (FK Bodo/Glint)
19- Jerome Ngom Mbekeli (Sheriff Tiraspol)
20- Bryan Mbeumo (Brentford)
22- Christopher Wooh (Stade Rennais)
23- Nicolas Nkoulou (Gaziantep FK)
24- Elliott Njongoue (Reading)
25- Nouhou Tolo (Seattle Sounders)
26- Darlin Yongwa (Lorient)
27- Fabrice Ondoa (Nîmes)
28- André Onana (Manchester United)
29- Simon Ngapandouetnbu (OM)
30- Simon Omossola (FC Saint Eloi)
31- Oumar Gonzalez (Al Raed)
32- Harold Moukoudi (AEK Athènes)
33- Junior Tchamadeu (Stoke City)
34- Leon Bell Bell (FC Magdeburg)
35- Jean-Charles Castelletto (FC Nantes)
36- Olivier Mbaizo (Philadelphia)
37- Franck Astana (Bamboutos FC)
39- Fai Collins (Unattached)
40- Malcolm Bokele (Bordeaux)
41- Enzo Tchato (Montpellier)
42- Enzo Boyomo (Real Valladolid)
43- Olivier Ntcham (Samsunspor)
44- Yvan Neyou (CD Leganes)
45- André Frank Zambo Anguissa (Napoli)
46- Olivier Kemen (Kayserispor)
47- Samuel Oum Gouet (Yverdon Sport)
48- Gael Ondoua (Servette FC)
49- Pierre Kunde Malong (Atromitos)
50- François Mughe (OM)
51- Didier Lamkel Ze (Hatayspor)
53- Aboubakar Nagida Mohamadou (Stade Rennais)
54- Éric Maxim Choupo Moting (Bayern Munich)

Copyright©2023 kick442.com-Cameroon

All rights reserved. This material and any other digital content on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written, or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from our management.

This site is not responsible for the content displayed by external sites

Related Articles

Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

You cannot copy content of this page