Home » Mamelodi Sundowns crowned inaugural AFL champions

Mamelodi Sundowns crowned inaugural AFL champions

by Lesley Ngwa
0 comment

South Africa’s Mamelodi Sundowns beat Wydad Athletic 2-0 in an epic show down to clinch the coveted Africa Football League trophy on Sunday.

Looking forward to secure consecutive victories against the Brazilians since April 2019, the Moroccans’ hopes were buried in Pretoria.

The first leg in Casablanca had ended 2-1 infavor of the north Africans, Boutouil converting the only important away goal for the visitors.

On return, Nambian international Peter Shalulile put the hosts Infront in added minutes of the first stanza to send the home fans into frenzy.

Modiba got the business done for Rulani’s side 5 minutes into the second stanza to increase scoreline to 2-0 at Loftus.

A 3-2 on aggregate saw Sundowns become the first team on continent to lift the newest prestigious competition.

The Masandawana walked away with three awards on top of the four million USD money prize.

Thapelo Maseko, named the Best Player and top scorer of the tournament alongside team-mate Ronwen Williams for the best goalkeeper.

Tanzania giants Simba SC took home the award for Best Fans of the maiden championship.

Copyright©2023 kick442.com-Cameroon

All rights reserved. This material and any other digital content on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written, or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from our management.

This site is not responsible for the content displayed by external sites

Related Articles

Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

You cannot copy content of this page