Home » Eight Coton-related players make 2022/23 MTN Elite One team of the season

Eight Coton-related players make 2022/23 MTN Elite One team of the season

by Lesley Ngwa
0 comment

Eight past and present players of Cotonsport of Garoua have been included in the 2022/23 MTN Elite One team of the season.

Emmanuel Mahop Dikonge, winner of the best player and golden boot awards is one of the five current players of the club that joined three former employees of the Cameroon champions on the best XI list released during Saturday’s awards ceremony at the Palais de Congres in Yaoundé.

Current Mahop, Wassou Goue Patient plus best goalkeeper Emile Lako and revelation player of the season, Jean Eric Moursou joins Simba SC’s Che Malone Fondoh Junior who finished second in the best player ranking, third best player Leonel Ateba Christian Mbida, Alexis Yougouda Kada of Dynamo and Gazelle FA respectively are all Coton related and in the best XI. Ateba, Che and Kada played for the Cotonites at some point in time while Arthur Avom spent weeks on tryouts at the club but wasn’t retained.

Mahop had a great year, scoring 14 goals for Cotonsport to claim the golden boot and best player awards despite his below par showing during the playoffs while Che was the main pillar of the Cotonsport defense that defied many opponents.

Zabo Bello of Astres, Bamboutos’ Franck Atsama and Ulrich Zanga of Aigle Royal of Menoua complete the best eleven selected by the jury.

Though there have been some questions about some of the choices, a bulk of football related persons agree the players drafted were at the peak of their powers during the period under consideration.

The team of the season has Jean Baptiste Bisseck as coach. The current Indomitable Lionesses of Cameroon coach helped Cotonsport to an eighteenth domestic championship crown.

Each player in the team of the season received a trophy and a financial reward is also expected.

Team of the season

Emile Lako Wendeu (Cotonsport/ Stade Renard)


Che Malone Fondoh Junior (Simba SC), Franck Atsama (Bamboutos FC) Zabo Bello Doyen


Alex Yougouda (Gazelle FA) Jean Eric Moursou (Cotonsport ) Ulrich Zanga Ayissi (Aigle Royal of Menoua)


Wassou Goue Patient (Cotonsport), Emmanuel Mahop Dikonge (Cotonsport), Leonel Ateba Christian Mbida (Dynamo of Douala)

Copyright©2023 kick442.com-Cameroon

All rights reserved. This material and any other digital content on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written, or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from our management.

This site is not responsible for the content displayed by external sites

Related Articles

Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

You cannot copy content of this page