Home » AFCON 2023 draw produces exciting groups as Cameroon, Senegal rivalry is renewed

AFCON 2023 draw produces exciting groups as Cameroon, Senegal rivalry is renewed

by Lesley Ngwa
0 comment

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) has completed the draw of the 2023 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) producing some exciting groups.

The star-studded ceremony this Friday evening at the state of the art ‘Parc Des Expositions’ constructed in the build up to the 34th edition of the AFCON produced six exciting groups of four teams each.

Hosts Côte D’Ivoire have been joined in Group A alongside three-tine winners -Nigeria, Guinea Bissau and Equatorial Guinea that reached the quarter-final last time in Cameroon.

Cameroon have been drawn in Group C alongside Guinea, the Gambia, Guinea and Senegal with whom they played the 2002 final.

The defending champions will hope to finally get one over Cameroon at the AFCON.

Seven-time AFCON winners, Egypt have been placed in Group B alongside Ghana chasing their first crown since 1982. The group is completed by Cape Verde and the Mambas of Mozambique.

2019 champions, Algeria have 2013 runners-up, Burkina Faso plus 2010 hosts, Angola and sensational Mauritania to contend with in a complex group D.

2004 winners, Tunisia, multiple bronze medalist Mali and 1994 champions South Africa make up an interesting group E completed by Namibia.

2022 World Cup semi-finalist Morocco are joined by two-time winner DR Congo and 2012 shock gold medalist Zambia and Tanzania returning to the tournament for the first time since 2019.

Global music star, AKON of Senegalese descent, thrilled during the ceremony alongside Achraf Hakimi, John Obi Mikel, Sadio Mane, Didier Drogba.

In the exciting cast of legends, was former Olympiakos, AS Monaco and Manchester City legend, Yaya Gnengenri Toure, who won the 2009 UEFA Champions League with Barcelona.

‘Yayous Ogogo’ as he is popularly known across the country led the Elephants to the 2015 AFCON triumph in Equatorial Guinea and was charged to bring the troohy before the start of the draw watched by millions in over 50 countries.

The 24 nations through to the second gathering of the continent in the Cote D’Ivoire now know their opponents for the competition expected to run from 13 January to February 11, 2024.

The Qualified Nations for the tournament:

Cote d’Ivoire (hosts), Algeria, Angola, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Congo DR, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Mali, Mauritania, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Senegal, South Africa, Tanzania, Tunisia and Zambia

Group A
Cote D’Ivoire
Equatorial Guinea
Guinea Bissau

Group B
Cape Verde

Group C

Group D
Burkina Faso

Group E
Republic of South Africa

Group F
DR Congo

Copyright©2023 kick442.com-Cameroon

All rights reserved. This material and any other digital content on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written, or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from our management.

This site is not responsible for the content displayed by external sites

Related Articles

Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

You cannot copy content of this page