Home » African teams to get more slots as FIFA expand U-20 Women’s World Cup

African teams to get more slots as FIFA expand U-20 Women’s World Cup

by profseuno profseuno
0 comment

African teams are set to have more slots at the next FIFA Women’s U-20 World Cup as the world football governing body FIFA at the end its Congress meeting expanded the competition on Wednesday.

The Congress confirmed that the FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup Colombia 2024™ will be enlarged from 16 to 24 teams.

The tournament will take place from 31 August to 22 September 2024.

The approved slot allocation will be as follows: Asia (AFC): 4; Africa (CAF) 4; Central America and Caribbean (Concacaf): 4; South America (CONMEBOL): 4; Oceania (OFC): 2; Europe (UEFA): 5; and host country (Colombia): 1.

The 2024 FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup will be the 11th edition of the competition, the biennial international women’s youth football championship contested by the under-20 national teams of the member associations of FIFA .

It will be hosted by Colombia. It will be the third time that Colombia has hosted a FIFA tournament.

It will also be the first time that Colombia has hosted a FIFA women’s tournament.

Spain are the defending champions.

Nigeria remained the most successful African ream at the tournament after reaching the final twice in 2010 and 2014, losing both to Germany.


Copyright 2023©kick442.com.
All rights reserved. This material and any other digital content on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcasted, written in full or parts, without a written permission from our management
This site is not responsible for contents displayed by external sites


Related Articles

Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

You cannot copy content of this page