Home » AFCON 2013 winner makes return to NPFL after a decade

AFCON 2013 winner makes return to NPFL after a decade

by profseuno profseuno
0 comment

2013 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) winner, Godfrey Oboabona finally made his debut for boy-hood club Sunshine Stars yesterday after retuning to the league after a decade plus.

Sunshine Stars were eventual winners as they demolished Plateau United 3-1 in Akure.

A brace from Tunde Sodiq and another goal by Ibrahim Yusuf propelled the Akure Gunners to victory.

Albert Hilary scored Plateau United’s lone goal.

Oboabona was part of Super Eagles squad to the 2013 AFCON where the team emerged as champions.

Oboabona was born in Ondo City, and began his professional career with local club Sunshine Stars In August 2013, the BBC claimed there was speculation linking him with a move to English side Arsenal, a claim denied by both Oboabona and Sunshine Stars chairman Mike Odoko.

Later that month, he signed a four-year contract with Turkish club Çaykur Rizespor. He described the transfer as a “dream move.” In September 2018, Oboabona joined HNK Gorica in the Croatian First Football League.

In February 2020 he signed for Georgian club FC Dinamo Batumi.



Copyright 2024©kick442.com.

All rights reserved. This material and any other digital content on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcasted, written in full or parts, without a written permission from our management

This site is not responsible for contents displayed by external sites

Related Articles

Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

You cannot copy content of this page